with the operation of public free employment offices; the collection and publication of information and statistics relating to employment; wages and hours of labour throughout the province; strikes and other labour difficulties; trade unions and labour organizations; the relations between capital and labour, and other subjects connected with industrial problems; the commercial, industrial, and sanitary conditions of employment.

The Alberta Department of Trade and Industry.—This Department exercises the powers and functions conferred upon it by the Department of Trade and Industry Act, and in addition supervises the administration of the following Acts: the Minimum Wage Act, 1925, relating to the wages of women workers; the Male Minimum Wage Act; the Industrial Standards Act; the Alberta Trades Disputes Act; the Factories Act; the Theatrcs Act; the Trade Schools Act; the Licensing of Trades and Businesses Act, 1937; and the Qualification of Tradesmen Act. The Department of Health has the administration of the Alberta Employment Offices Act as well as measures for unemployment relief.

The British Columbia Department of Labour.—This Department was instituted by an Act of 1917, under a Minister and Deputy Minister of Labour. It administers the laws of British Columbia affecting labour, and is empowered to collect information respecting industries, wages, employment, prices, labour organizations, and other data pertaining to labour problems. Prominent among the Acts administered by the Department are: the Male Minimum Wage Act, 1934; the Female Minimum Wage Act, 1934; the Hours of Work Act, 1934. These are administered by the Board of Industrial Relations, the Deputy Minister of Labour being Chairman of the Board. Other activities of the Department include the administration of: the Semi-monthly Payment of Wages Act; the Factories Act; the Apprenticeship Act; the Trade-Schools Regulation Act; the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1937; and the operation of employment bureaus within the province.

## Section 4.—Canada and the International Labour Organization.\*

The International Labour Organization of the League of Nations was set up in 1919 in accordance with Part XIII of the Treaties of Peace to promote the improvement of industrial conditions by legislative action and international agreement.

The Organization comprises the International Labour Conference, which meets annually and is composed of four representatives of each Member State, two of whom are Government delegates, while two represent employers and workers, respectively, and the International Labour Office in Geneva, which functions as a secretariat of the annual conference and also collects and publishes information on subjects relating to industrial life and labour. The Office is under the control of a Governing Body, consisting of 32 persons, appointed by the International Labour Conference, of whom 16 represent governments, 8 represent employers and 8 represent workers. In addition to its control of the Labour Office, the Governing Body is charged with the preparation of the agenda of the annual conference.

Under the terms of the Peace Treaties, 8 of the government seats on the Governing Body are held by the countries of "chief industrial importance" Canada has been designated as one of these 8 states of chief industrial importance. There are at present 57 countries comprised in the membership of the International Labour Organization, including nearly all of the industrial states of the world. Germany

<sup>\*</sup> On this subject see also the 1921 Year Book, pp. 607-609; the 1922-23 Year Book, pp. 704-707; and the 1924 Year Book, pp. 666-670.